American Flag Restored

Just two days prior to Independence Day, we, at South Florida Art Conservation, are working in a 37 stars American Flag.

The treatment consisted in surface cleaning by vacuum, with a protective screen and low suction; elimination of old patches that didn't match the color and were covering one of the points of a star, careful tear mending, filling of loses, humidification through a goretex membrane, flattening and mounting into a panel covered with pellon and muslin fabric to prepare for exhibition.

The 37 star American flag became the Official United States Flag on July 4th 1867. A star was added for the admission of Nebraska (March 1st,1867) and was to last for ten years.

The three Presidents who served under this flag were; Andrew Johnson (1865-1869), Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877), and Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881).

American Flag

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment